MPG   Logo Psychiatrie

Press / News:

25.03.2014
Monika Zaba receives Young Academics Award
Events:

29.04.2014 17:00
Connectomics: The dense reconstruction of neuronal circuits
Dr. Moritz Helmstaedter, Structure of Neocortical Circuits Group
Seminar

 

History of the Institute

1912

At the request of the "Deutscher Verein für psychiatrie" (German Society of Psychiatry), Emil Kraepelin explores the possibility of foundation  "an institute for psychiatric research".

1916

In January, James Loeb, an American banker, private scholar and patron of science of Jewish-German origin, donates the first 500.000 Reichsmark for the future Institute. Through a contract with the City of Munich, Kraepelin reserves a building site for a psychiatric research institute in the north of the newly established Urban Hospital of  Schwabing.

1917

After promise of further financial means by patrons of science, e. g. Gustav Krupp von Bohlen und Halbach, the Bavarian King Ludwig III establishes the public foundation "Deutsche Forschungsanstalt für Psychiatrie in München, DFA" (German Research Institute of Psychiatry in Munich) on February 13th. For lack of own rooms, at the beginning, the Institute is housed in the Neuropathic Hospital of the University of Munich (Nußbaumstraße). Beginning of scientific work with the following departments: Histopathology I (Franz Nissl), Histopathology II (Walther Spielmeyer), Histotopography (Korbinian Brodmann), Psychiatric Research on Heredity (Ernst Rüdin) and Experimental Psychology (Emil Kraepelin and Johannes Lange).

1919 After the deaths of Nissl and Brodmann closing of the departments Histopathology I and Histotopography.
1922 In October opening of a Clinical Department in the Urban Hospital Munich-Schwabing, originally meant as „Psychiatric Accommodation Ward for Female Invalids". Up to the 1930ies, the clinic is expanded to approx. 120 beds. Further donations of Loeb and his relatives secure the economical existence of the DFA up to the beginning of the 1930ies as a privately financed Research Institute.

1924

Incorporation of the DFA into the Kaiser-Wilhelm-Gesellschaft zur Förderung der Wissenschaften (KWG) (K.W. Society for the Promotion of Sciences) by decision of the Senate of the KWG and the Foundation Board of the DFA of March 18th.

1926

The Rockefeller-Foundation grants 325.000 $ for financing of a separate building of the Institute, which is then constructed by the architect Carl Sattler according to the guidelines of Kraepelin on the site to the north of the Urban Hospital Munich-Schwabing. After the death of Kraepelin on October 7th, the neuropathologist Walther Spielmeyer takes over the management of the Institute.

1928

In June inauguration of the new building of the Institute in Kraepelinstraße 2. For this reason, the Golden Kraepelin-Medal is conferred for the first time to Oscar Vogt as a special award for his scientific performances in the field of psychiatry. Under the department leaders Walther Spielmeyer (Neuropathology), Felix Plaut (Serology), Ernst Rüdin (Genealogy and Demography), Kurt Schneider (Clinic) and Franz Jahnel (Research on Spirochäten), the DFA gets worldwide recognition as one of the leading psychiatric research institutes.

 

1931

On April 1st, Ernst Rüdin takes over the leadership of the DFA as Managing Director.

1935

After the death of  Walther Spielmeyer on February 6th, Willibald Scholz is in charge of the Department of Neuropathology. Felix Plaut (Leader of the Department of Serology) und Kurt Neubürger (Leader of the Department of Pathology in the Psychiatric Hospital Eglfing-Haar which belongs to the Institute) are dismissed due to their Jewish origin. Rüdins focus of work on psychiatric genetics of populations, his programme of racial hygiene and his functions in the governmental health care of the National Socialism are determining the work at the Institute more and more.

1939

During World War II, research work is on the one hand constrained to a large extent; on the other hand, there is a contribution to projects which are „important for war“. In the Department of Neuropathology resp. in the Department of Pathology, brains of victims of the "T4-mission" are examined.

1945

The building of the Institute is extremely damaged by consequences of war. Research activities are only possible to a minor degree until the middle of the 1950ies. Willibald Scholz takes over the management.

1946 The clinic of the Hospital Schwabing is used as a military hospital for the troops by the US-military Government in Bavaria and is therefore not available to the Institute any more. That is why the previous Head of the Department, Kurt Schneider, agrees to accept the professorship offered to him in Heidelberg.

1954

By order of the Senate on March 28th, the DFA is incorporated into the Max Planck Society (MPS) as successive institution of the KWG under maintenance of the foundation of 1917. Organisationally, the DFA is divided into an Institute of Brain Pathology (Willibald Scholz) and a Clinical Institute (Werner Wagner). Parts of the Clinical Institute are the dependent Departments of Genealogy and Demography (Bruno Schulz) as well as the Department of Biochemistry (Horst Jatzkewitz); parts of the Institute of Brain Pathology are the dependent Departments of Serology and Microbiology (Gerd Poetschke) as well as the Department of Pathology (Hans Schleussing). A Department of Cytochemistry is newly founded under the leadership of Feodor Lynen.

1956 Transformation of the Department Lynen into an independent Max Planck Institute of Cytochemistry, future MPI of Biochemistry.
1961 Klaus Conrad, who had already been appointed Director of the Clinical Department, dies before taking up his work. Gerd Peters takes over the Department of Neuropathology as successor of Willibald Scholz. Organization of a Department of Experimental Ethology by Detlev Ploog.
1962 Building up of a Department of Neuropharmacology by Albert Herz, a Department of Experimental Neurophysiology by Otto Creutzfeldt and a Department of Comparative Neurophysiology by Dietrich Schneider. Organizationally, the Institute is subdivided into a clinical and a theoretical part. The "Prosektur" at the Hospital of Haar, which had belonged to the Institute in former times, is closed.
1964 In addition to Ethology, Detlev Ploog takes over the Clinical Institute, Johannes C. Brengelmann the Department of Psychology. Dietrich Schneider change to the MPI of Ethology in Seewiesen as successor of Erich von Holst.
1965 Building up of an independent Research Center of the MPS of Psychopathology and Psychotherapy under the leadership of Paul Matussek.

1966

Opening of the new Research Clinic in Kraepelinstrasse 10 on March 29th under the management of Detlev Ploog. The name of the Institute is changed into "Max Planck Institute of Psychiatry (German Research Institute of Psychiatry)”. Detlev von Zerssen is in charge of Psychiatry of Adults, Wilhelm Feuerlein of the Policlinic. Gerd Peters is Director of the Whole Institute, the Theoretical Part of the Institute and the Neuropathological Department. The interest of research is extended to all important fields of psychiatry and the basic sciences close to them.

1971 Gerd Peters assigns the management of the whole Institute to Detlev Ploog. Otto Creutzfeldt goes to the MPI of Biophysical Chemistry in Göttingen as Director of the Department of Neurobiology.
1974 After the emeritus status has been conferred on Gerd Peters, Albert Herz takes over the leadership of the Theoretical Part of the Institute. Dieter Lux is appointed Leader of the Department of Neurophysiology.
1977 Hans Thoenen is in charge of the Department of Neurochemistry as successor of Horst Jatzekewitz.
1978 Georg W. Kreutzberg is in charge of the Department of Neuromorphology at the Theoretical Part of the Institute.
1981 Hans Thoenen takes over the leadership of the Theoretical Part of the Institute.

1984

On April 3rd, inauguration of the building of the Theoretical Part of the Institute in  Martinsried in the immedidate vicinity of the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry. The Departments of Neurochemistry (Hans Thoenen), Neuromorphology (Georg W. Kreutzberg), Neuropharmacology (Albert Herz) and Neurophysiology (Dieter Lux) are moved there. The Clinical Department, the Department of Ethology and the Department of Psychology remain in Kraepelinstraße. Closure of the independent Research Center of Psychopathology and Psychotherapy after retirement of Paul Matussek.

1988 Hartmut Wekerle is in charge of the Department of Neuroimmunology which is newly founded at the Theoretical Part of the Institute.

1989

On the retirement of Detlev Ploog, Florian Holsboer takes over the management of the Clinical Institute. The buildings of the Institute in Kraepelinstraße are renovated and enlarged by a new laboratory wing. Depression and diseases associated with fear become the focal themes of research.

1998

Spin-off of the former Theoretical Part of the Institute into a seperate Max Planck Institute of Neurobiology. From now on, only the Clinical Part of the Institute bears the name „Max Planck Institute of Psychiatry“.

MPG   Logo Psychiatrie

Aktuelle Pressemitteilung:

25.03.2014
Monika Zaba erhält Nachwuchspreis der Deutschsprachigen Gesellschaft für Psychotraumatologie
Veranstaltungen:

29.04.2014 17:00
Connectomics: The dense reconstruction of neuronal circuits
Dr. Moritz Helmstaedter, Structure of Neocortical Circuits Group
Seminarvortrag
Probanden gesucht:

20.08.2012 08:00
Gesunde, männliche Probanden im Alter von 20-30 Jahren gesucht
11.09.2013 08:00
MS-Patienten zwischen 18-60 Jahren gesucht

 

Geschichte des Institutes

1912

Auf Anregung des Deutschen Vereins für Psychiatrie fasst Emil Kraepelin erste Überlegungen zur Gründung eines "Forschungsinstituts für Psychiatrie".

1916

James Loeb, amerikanischer Bankier, Privatgelehrter und Wissenschaftsmäzen jüdisch-deutscher Abstammung, stiftet im Januar die ersten 500.000 Reichsmark für das zukünftige Institut. Durch Vertrag mit der Stadt München reserviert Kraepelin ein Grundstück nördlich des neu errichteten Städtischen Krankenhauses Schwabing für eine psychiatrische Forschungsanstalt.

loeb

1917

Nach Zusage weiterer Mittel durch Wissenschaftsmäzene, u.a. durch Gustav Krupp von Bohlen und Halbach, errichtet der bayerische König Ludwig III. am 13. Februar die öffentliche Stiftung "Deutsche Forschungsanstalt für Psychiatrie in München" (DFA). Mangels eigener Räume wird das Institut zunächst in der Münchner Universitäts-Nervenklinik (Nußbaumstraße) untergebracht. Beginn der wissenschaftlichen Tätigkeit mit folgenden Abteilungen: Histopathologie I (Franz Nissl), Histopathologie II (Walther Spielmeyer), Histotopographie (Korbinian Brodmann), Psychiatrische Erblichkeitsforschung (Ernst Rüdin) und Experimentelle Psychologie (Emil Kraepelin und Johannes Lange).

1919 Nach dem Tod von Nissl und Brodmann Schließung der Abteilungen Histopathologie I und Histotopographie.
1922 Im Oktober Eröffnung einer Klinischen Abteilung im Städtischen Krankenhaus München-Schwabing, zunächst als "psychiatrische Aufnahmestation für weibliche Kranke". Die Klinik wird bis in die 1930er Jahre auf ca. 120 Betten erweitert. Weitere Zustiftungen Loebs und seiner Verwandten sichern die wirtschaftliche Existenz der DFA bis zum Anfang der 1930er Jahre als privat finanziertes Forschungsinstitut.

1924

Angliederung der DFA an die Kaiser-Wilhelm-Gesellschaft zur Förderung der Wissenschaften (KWG) durch Beschluss des Senats der KWG und des Stiftungsrates der DFA vom 18. März. Das Institut trägt nunmehr die Bezeichnung "Deutsche Forschungsanstalt für Psychiatrie (Kaiser-Wilhelm-Institut)".

1926

Die Rockefeller-Foundation bewilligt 325.000 $ zur Finanzierung eines eigenen Institutsgebäudes, das der Architekt Carl Sattler nach den Vorgaben Kraepelins auf dem dafür vorgesehenen Grundstück nördlich des Städtischen Krankenhauses München-Schwabing errichtet. Nach dem Tod Kraepelins am 7. Oktober übernimmt der Neuropathologe Walther Spielmeyer die Geschäftsführung des Instituts.

1928

Im Juni Einweihung des neuen Institutsgebäudes an der Kraepelinstraße 2. Aus diesem Anlass wird erstmals die linkPfeilGoldene Kraepelin-Medaille an Oskar Vogt als besondere Auszeichnung für seine wissenschaftlichen Leistungen auf dem Gebiet der Psychiatrie verliehen. Unter den Abteilungsleitern Walther Spielmeyer (Neuropathologie), Felix Plaut (Serologie), Ernst Rüdin (Genealogie und Demographie), Kurt Schneider (Klinik) und Franz Jahnel (Spirochätenforschung) erlangt die DFA Weltgeltung als eines der führenden psychiatrischen Forschungsinstitute.

kraepel_haus

1931

Ernst Rüdin übernimmt am 1. April als geschäftsführender Direktor die Leitung der DFA.

1935

Nach dem Tod Walther Spielmeyers am 6. Februar leitet Willibald Scholz die Neuropathologische Abteilung. Felix Plaut (Leiter der Abteilung Serologie) und Kurt Neubürger (Leiter der zum Institut gehörenden Prosektur im Psychiatrischen Krankenhaus Eglfing-Haar) werden aufgrund ihrer jüdischen Abstammung entlassen. Rüdins psychiatrisch-populationsgenetische Arbeitsrichtung sowie sein rassenhygienisches Programm und seine Funktionen im staatlichen Gesundheitswesen des Nationalsozialismus bestimmen zunehmend die Tätigkeit des Instituts.

1939

Während des Zweiten Weltkriegs wird einerseits die Forschungstätigkeit stark behindert, andererseits erfolgt eine Beteiligung an "kriegswichtigen" Projekten. In der neuropathologischen Abteilung bzw. in der Prosektur werden Gehirne von Opfern der "T4-Aktion" untersucht.

1945

Das Institutsgebäude ist durch die Kriegseinwirkungen erheblich beschädigt; Forschungsarbeiten sind bis Mitte der 1950er Jahre nur in sehr geringem Umfang möglich. Willibald Scholz übernimmt die Geschäftsführung.

1946 Die Klinik im Krankenhaus Schwabing wird von der US-Militärregierung in Bayern als Truppenlazarett genutzt und steht dem Institut nicht mehr zur Verfügung, weshalb der bisherige Abteilungsleiter Kurt Schneider einem Ruf nach Heidelberg folgt.

1954

Durch Senatsbeschluss vom 28. März Aufnahme der DFA in die Max-Planck-Gesellschaft (MPG) als Nachfolgeinstitution der KWG unter Aufrechterhaltung der Stiftung von 1917. Die DFA wird organisatorisch in ein Hirnpathologisches Institut (Willibald Scholz) und ein Klinisches Institut (Werner Wagner) gegliedert. Zu letzterem gehören die unselbständigen Abteilungen für Genealogie und Demographie (Bruno Schulz) sowie für Biochemie (Horst Jatzkewitz), zum Hirnpathologischen Institut die unselbständigen Abteilungen Serologie und Mikrobiologie (Gerd Poetschke) sowie die Prosektur (Hans Schleussing). Es folgt die Neugründung einer Abteilung für Zellchemie unter der Leitung von Feodor Lynen. Das Institut trägt nunmehr die Bezeichnung "Max-Planck-Institut für Psychiatrie (Deutsche Forschungsanstalt für Psychiatrie)".

1956 Umwandlung der Abteilung Lynen in ein selbständiges Max-Planck-Institut für Zellchemie, das 1973 in das neu gegründete MPI für Biochemie in Martinsried integriert wird.
1961 Klaus Conrad, bereits berufener Direktor der Klinischen Abteilung, verstirbt vor Aufnahme seiner Tätigkeit. Gerd Peters übernimmt als Nachfolger von Willibald Scholz die Neuropathologische Abteilung. Aufbau einer Abteilung für Experimentelle Verhaltensforschung unter Detlev Ploog.
1962 Aufbau einer Abteilung für Neuropharmakologie durch Albert Herz, einer Abteilung für Experimentelle Neurophysiologie durch Otto Creutzfeldt und einer Abteilung für Vergleichende Neurophysiologie durch Dietrich Schneider. Das Institut wird organisatorisch in ein Klinisches und ein Theoretisches Teilinstitut gegliedert. Schließung der institutseigenen Prosektur im Bezirkskrankenhaus Haar.
1964 Detlev Ploog übernimmt zusätzlich zur Verhaltensforschung das Klinische Institut, Johannes C. Brengelmann die Psychologische Abteilung. Dietrich Schneider wechselt als Nachfolger von Erich von Holst an das MPI für Verhaltensforschung nach Seewiesen.
1965 Einrichtung einer selbständigen Forschungsstelle der MPG für Psychopathologie und Psychotherapie unter der Leitung von Paul Matussek.

1966

Eröffnung der neuen Forschungsklinik am 29. März in der Kraepelinstraße 10 unter der Direktion von Detlev Ploog. Detlev von Zerssen leitet die Erwachsenenpsychiatrie, Wilhelm Feuerlein die Poliklinik. Direktor des Gesamtinstituts, des Theoretischen Teilinstituts und der Neuropathologischen Abteilung ist Gerd Peters. Das Forschungsinteresse wird auf alle wesentlichen Gebiete der Psychiatrie und der nahe stehenden Grundlagenwissenschaften ausgedehnt.

1971 Gerd Peters übergibt die Geschäftsführung des Gesamtinstituts an Detlev Ploog. Otto Creutzfeldt wechselt an das MPI für biophysikalische Chemie nach Göttingen als Direktor der dortigen Abteilung für Neurobiologie.
1974 Albert Herz übernimmt die Leitung des Theoretischen Teilinstituts nach der Emeritierung von Gerd Peters. Dieter Lux wird zum Leiter der Neurophysiologischen Abteilung berufen.
1977 Hans Thoenen leitet als Nachfolger von Horst Jatzekewitz die Abteilung Neurochemie.
1978 Georg W. Kreutzberg leitet die Abteilung Neuromorphologie am Theoretischen Teilinstitut.
1981 Hans Thoenen übernimmt die Leitung des Theoretischen Teilinstituts.

1984

Am 3. April Eröffnung des Gebäudes für das Theoretische Teilinstitut in Martinsried in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft zum Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie. Dorthin werden die Abteilungen für Neurochemie (Hans Thoenen), Neuromorphologie (Georg W. Kreutzberg), Neuropharmakologie (Albert Herz) und Neurophysiologie (Dieter Lux) verlagert. Die Klinische Abteilung, die Verhaltensforschung und die Psychologische Abteilung verbleiben in der Kraepelinstraße. Schließung der selbständigen Forschungsstelle für Psychopathologie und Psychotherapie nach der Emeritierung von Paul Matussek.

1988 Hartmut Wekerle leitet die am Theoretischen Teilinstitut neu errichtete Abteilung für Neuroimmunologie.

1989

Florian Holsboer übernimmt nach der Emeritierung von Detlev Ploog die Leitung des Klinischen Instituts. Die Institutsgebäude in der Kraepelinstraße werden saniert und durch einen neuen Labortrakt erweitert. Depression und Angsterkrankungen bilden den Schwerpunkt des Forschungsinteresses.

1994

Eröffnung des neuen Forschungs- und Hörsaaltrakts, Abschluß der Sanierung der Klinik und des Kraepelinbaus.

1998

Verselbständigung des bisherigen Theoretischen Teilinstituts in ein eigenes Max-Planck-Institut für Neurobiologie. Seitdem führt nur mehr das frühere Klinische Teilinstitut den Namen "Max-Planck-Institut für Psychiatrie".