MPG   Logo Psychiatrie

Press / News:

25.03.2014
Monika Zaba receives Young Academics Award
Events:

29.04.2014 17:00
Connectomics: The dense reconstruction of neuronal circuits
Dr. Moritz Helmstaedter, Structure of Neocortical Circuits Group
Seminar

start_forschung

Research

Worldwide is the Max Planck Institute of Psychiatry considered as one of the leading research institutes on psychiatry. Medical doctors and psychologists as well as basic researchers of all natural sciences work together for the understanding and subsequent development of future therapeutic options for psychiatric and neurological diseases.

 

A modern technical research platform allows the identification of disease related genetic and epigenetic  factors. Genom-wide analysis of the heritable information (Genomics) as well as cell or tissue protein content analysis (Proteomics) are done. Animal models allow the molecular biological, cell biological and behavioral analyses of factors to get insight and proof of scientific hypotheses.

 

400 patients participate in different clinical trails each year. Extensive phenotyping of the patients with analysis of blood and liquor samples, clinical psychopathology and neuropsychological testing, neurophysiological methods, neuroimaging techniques, as well as protein and gene analyses form the basis to investigate the causation of complex psychiatric and neurological diseases.

 

Close to 600 people are working at the Max Planck Institute of Psychiatry. The researchers  are organised in 14 preclinical and 15 clinical reearch groups, which are focussing on the following topics:

  • Depression & Anxiety
  • Neurology
  • Mental Health Span
  • Psychopharmacology
  • Sleep
  • Internal Medicine
  • History of Medicine

MPG   Logo Psychiatrie

Aktuelle Pressemitteilung:

25.03.2014
Monika Zaba erhält Nachwuchspreis der Deutschsprachigen Gesellschaft für Psychotraumatologie
Veranstaltungen:

29.04.2014 17:00
Connectomics: The dense reconstruction of neuronal circuits
Dr. Moritz Helmstaedter, Structure of Neocortical Circuits Group
Seminarvortrag
Probanden gesucht:

20.08.2012 08:00
Gesunde, männliche Probanden im Alter von 20-30 Jahren gesucht
11.09.2013 08:00
MS-Patienten zwischen 18-60 Jahren gesucht

start_forschung

Forschung

Weltweit gilt das Max-Planck-Institut für Psychiatrie als eines der führenden Forschungsinstitute auf dem Gebiet der Psychiatrie. Neben Medizinern und Psychologen arbeiten Grundlagenforscher aller naturwissenschaftlichen Disziplinen gemeinsam an der Ursachenklärung und  Therapieentwicklung psychiatrischer und neurologischer Erkrankungen.

 

Eine moderne Forschungsplattform erlaubt die Identifikation endogener und exogener Faktoren, die bei der Entstehung von psychischen und neurologischen Erkrankungen eine Rolle spielen. In molekularbiologischen Laboratorien werden sowohl genomweite Untersuchungen des Erbgutes (Genomik) als auch der Körpereiweiße (Proteomik) durchgeführt. Molekular-, zell- und verhaltensbiologische Untersuchungen an Tiermodellen dienen zur Prüfung unserer wissenschaftlichen Hypothesen.

 

Jedes Jahr nehmen etwa 400 Patienten an verschiedenen klinischen Studien teil. Umfassende Charakterisierung der Patienten durch klinische Untersuchung, psychopathologische und neuropsychologische Testung, Laboranalysen, neurophysiologische Methoden, bildgebende Verfahren sowie durch Proteinanalysen und Genotypisierung stellen die Grundlage dar, um komplexe psychiatrische und neurologische Erkrankungen ursächlich erforschen und erfolgreich therapieren zu können.

 

Derzeit sind fast 600 Mitarbeiter am Max-Planck-Institut für Psychiatrie beschäftigt. Die Forschung gliedert sich in 14 präklinische und 15 klinische Arbeitsgruppen, die sich den folgenden Forschungsthemen widmen:

  • Depression/Angst
  • Neurologie
  • Alternsforschung
  • Psychopharmakologie
  • Schlaf
  • Innere Medizin
  • Geschichte der Psychiatrie